Chocolate Bourbon Swirl Meringues for #CalmandBrightCookieNight

You guys. It’s the moooooost wonderful time of the year! But it’s also one of the busiest.

We’ve got plans every night, it seems like. And some nights we have multiple plans. And don’t even ask how I’m doing on Christmas shopping! Lordy.

Bourbon Chocolate Swirl Meringues | PDXfoodlove

But you know one thing I AM on top of? COOKIES. Between a cookie swap with friends and just wanting to be able to feast on cookies at home, I am doing QUITE well on cookies. Especially after the swap – I have a couple dozen at least!

Bourbon Chocolate Swirl Meringues | PDXfoodlove

And I have no problem with that! Haha.

I’m thrilled to be sharing this recipe today in honor of #calmandbrightcookienight, an online cookie exchange led by my friends at The Modern Proper. Since we are all so busy with our own holiday schedules, we decided to meet up online for our own cookie swap! Check out all of their amazing recipes!

Coconut Thumbprint Cookies with Salted Caramel

https://themodernproper.com/posts/coconut-thumbprint-cookies-with-salted-caramel

Wood and Spoon – Candied Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies – http://thewoodandspoon.com/candied-walnut-chocolate-chip-cookies/

Floating Kitchen – Chocolate Peppermint Thumbprint Cookies http://www.floatingkitchen.net/peppermint-chocolate-thumbprint-cookies/

Brewing Happienss – Mint Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies http://www.brewinghappiness.com/mint-chocolate-gingerbread-cookies-calmandbrightcookienight/

The Vintage Mixer – Ginger Creams with Browned butter Icing http://www.thevintagemixer.com/2016/12/christmas-cookies-ginger-creams/

Wu Haus – Raw Vegan Gingerbread Cookie Sandwiches http://www.wuhaus.com/blog/2016/12/12/raw-vegan-gingerbread-cookie-sandwiches

The Almond Eater – Homemade Almond Biscotti http://thealmondeater.com/2016/12/homemade-almond-biscotti/

Chocolate + Marrow – Brown Butter Gingerbread Madeleines http://chocolateandmarrow.com/2016/12/12/brown-butter-gingerbread-madeleines-recipe

Hungry Girl Por Vida – Lemon Pistachio Linzer Cookies

Lemon Pistachio Linzer Cookies

Honestly YUM – Ricciarelli (Italian Almond Cookies) http://honestlyyum.com/18212/ricciarelli-italian-almond-cookies/

Husbands That Cook – Chocolate Sugar Cookies http://www.husbandsthatcook.com/2016/12/chocolate-sugar-cookies/

The Judy Lab – Sea Salt Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies http://www.thejudylab.com/recipes-blog/sea-salt-chocolate-chocolate-chip-cookies

Gather and Dine – Chocolate Almond Spelt Cookies http://www.gatheranddine.com/chocolate-almond-spelt-cookies/

Betty S Liu- Cardamom Persimmon Cookies with Olive Oil Dark Chocolate Ganache http://bettysliu.com/2016/12/12/cardamom-persimmon-cookies-olive-oil-dark-chocolate-ganache/

Harvest and Honey – Milk & Cookies https://harvestandhoney.com/2016/12/12/milk-cookies/

Bakerita – Chocolate Rugelach (gluten free + refined sugar free) http://www.bakerita.com/chocolate-rugelach-gluten-free/
The Fauxmartha – Snowball cookies http://www.thefauxmartha.com/2016/12/12/snowball-cookies/

The Kitchen Paper – Soft Toffee Cookies http://thekitchenpaper.com/soft-toffee-cookies/

Life Is But A Dish – Chocolate Peppermint Cream Cookies http://www.lifeisbutadish.com/chocolate-peppermint-cream-cookies/

Oh Honey Bakes Pomegranate Pistachio and Almond Biscotti http://ohhoneybakes.com/pomegranate-pistachio-and-lemon-biscotti/

The Brick Kitchen – Coconut Raspberry Wagon Wheels http://www.thebrickkitchen.com/2016/12/coconut-raspberry-wagon-wheels/

Alexandra Cooks – Classic Cream Cheese Cutout Cookies http://www.alexandracooks.com/2016/12/11/classic-cream-cheese-cutout-cookies/

Hello My Dumpling – Ginger Viennese Whirl Cookies with Matcha Passion Fruit Filling http://www.hellomydumpling.com/ginger-viennese-whirl-cookies-matcha-passion-fruit-filling

Snixy Kitchen – Peppermint Chocolate Marshmallow Cookies http://www.snixykitchen.com/2016/12/12/peppermint-chocolate-marshmallow-cookies/

Tending the Table – Almond Macaroons with Satsuma Marmalade https://tendingthetable.com/2016/12/12/almond-macaroons-with-satsuma-marmalade/

Milly’s Kitchen – Grapefruit Fennel Shortbread Cookies http://www.millys-kitchen.com/millys-kitchen/2016/12/12/grapefruit-fennel-shortbread-cookies

PDX Food Love – Chocolate Bourbon Swirl Meringues http://pdxfoodlove.com/chocolate-bourbon-swirl-meringues-for-calmandbrightcookienight/

Lasting Ingredient – Lemon Lime Shortbread http://www.lastingredient.com/2016/12/12/lemon-lime-shortbread/

Heart Beet Kitchen Chocolate Peppermint Crinkle Cookies http://heartbeetkitchen.com/2016/recipes/type/dessert/chocolate-peppermint-crinkle-cookies/

Carly Diaz Dark Chocolate Pistachio Shortbread Cookie https://www.carlydiaz.com/blog/2016/12/12/dark-chocolate-pistachio-shortbread-cookies

Cloudy Kitchen – Early Grey Shortbread http://www.cloudykitchen.com/blog/2016/12/11/earl-grey-shortbread

Lena’s Kitchen Blog Shortbread Cookies Three Ways http://www.lenaskitchenblog.com/shortbread-cookies-three-ways/

Bourbon Chocolate Swirl Meringues | PDXfoodlove

I hope you enjoy these meringues – I used to not be a big fan of this type of cookie, but I think the ones I’ve had in the past were overcooked. And they weren’t chocolate. They were all crunch and  sugar and no balance. This batch will stay soft on the inside, and that swirl of chocolate plus the little bit of bourbon I snuck into the recipe will provide more of a balance (but if you want it to be 100% grain free, just skip the bourbon!).  I’m a huge fan. You might even say I’m a convert. Let me know if you are too.

Chocolate Bourbon Swirl Meringues for #CalmandBrightCookieNight

Chocolate Bourbon Swirl Meringues for #CalmandBrightCookieNight

Ingredients

  • 3 oz eggs whites (about 3 large eggs)
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoon powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon distilled white vinegar
  • 8oz. chocolate, melted and cooled
  • 1 tsp. bourbon

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 275. Add a sheet of parchment paper to a baking sheet.
  2. Whip egg whites in the bowl of a stand mixer until stiff peaks form. Next, gradually add in both sugars, vanilla, bourbon and finally vinegar. The meringue will break up a little then reform. Whip until it changes visibly, becoming glossy and opaque like marshmallow fluff. Continue whipping until stiff peaks form again.
  3. Drizzle melted chocolate into the bowl - no need to mix it in, you want to see a nice swirl in the cookies. You can use a spoon to drop on the baking sheet, but you can also pipe into rosettes using a piping bag.
  4. Bake for about 40 minutes or until the cookies easily peel from the baking sheet.
Schema/Recipe SEO Data Markup by Yummly Rich Recipes
http://pdxfoodlove.com/chocolate-bourbon-swirl-meringues-for-calmandbrightcookienight/

6 Comments »

  1. […] Macaroons with Satsuma Marmalade Milly’s Kitchen – Grapefruit Fennel Shortbread Cookies PDX Food Love – Chocolate Bourbon Swirl Meringues Lasting Ingredient – Lemon Lime Shortbread Heart Beet Kitchen – Chocolate Peppermint […]

    Pingback by shortbread cookies three ways - Lena's Kitchen — December 12, 2016 @ 5:29 pm

  2. […] with Satsuma Marmalade Milly’s Kitchen. Grapefruit Fennel Shortbread Cookies PDX Food Love. Chocolate Bourbon Swirl Meringues Lasting Ingredient. Lemon Lime Shortbread Heart Beet Kitchen. Chocolate Peppermint Crinkle Cookies […]

    Pingback by Ginger Viennese Whirl Cookies w/ Matcha Passion Fruit Filling — December 12, 2016 @ 5:38 pm

  3. Hi,
    You forgot to list bourbon in your ingredient list. How much do you use?
    Thanks!

    Comment by Patty — December 20, 2016 @ 8:05 am

  4. Yikes! Sorry! Just a teaspoon 🙂 Will add it in!

    Comment by bekky — December 21, 2016 @ 9:59 pm

  5. How much bourbon?

    Comment by Anonymous — December 20, 2016 @ 10:33 am

  6. 1 tsp!! Sorry for leaving it out!

    Comment by bekky — December 21, 2016 @ 9:59 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Baking recipes you may enjoy:

Savory Parmesan Mini Scones - perfect for afternoon tea! | PDXfoodlove

Mini Savory Cheese Scones

These savory little bites are perfect for afternoon tea!

Chocolate-Dipped Cardamom Pistachio Shortbread Cookies | PDXfoodlove

Chocolate Dipped Cardamom Shortbread Cookie with Pistachios

A few nontraditional holiday flavors - but together they are the perfect sweet snack!

Pumpkin Cranberry Swirl Muffins | PDXfoodlove

Pumpkin Cranberry Swirl Muffins

Got some leftover cran sauce? Have I got an idea for you :)